particiapte in the parade!

Bicycle Ride


Parade Route

The Grand Marshal

and the winners were....


Please contact us



The Grand Marshal

Presiding over the 2014 Colorado Springs St. Patrick's Day Parade is

Dr. Pamela Shockley-Zalabak

“The Colorado Springs Society of the Friendly Sons and Daughters of St. Patrick” has selected University of Colorado at Colorado Springs Chancellor Dr. Pam Shockley – Zalabak as the Grand Marshal for the 2014 City of Colorado Springs St. Patrick’s Day Parade.

Dr. Shockley will be our 30th Grand Marshal and she follows a long list of community leaders who have led our community’s largest Parade. The likes of Chuck Murphy, Mayor Leon Young, Mayor Mary Lou Makepeace, Councilwoman Mary Ellen McNally, Jim Lyons (Denver Attorney and author of the Irish Peace) accord and Sr. Myra James Bradley the CEO of Penrose St. Francis Hospitals,  and many others have had the opportunity to be recognized for their contributions to our community. “We are very honored that she has accepted to be this year’s Grand Marshal and glad that she will be at the head of the Parade this year” said Friendly Sons President Dan Russell.

Dr. Shockley – Zalabak is the author of eight books and more than 100 articles and productions on organizational communication, Dr. Shockley Zalabak's research interests’ center on building organizational trust. Her latest book, "Building the High Trust Organization" was published in 2010
In addition to her duties as chancellor, Shockley-Zalabak continues to teach in the UCCS Communication Department.
Prior to assuming chancellor responsibilities, Dr. Shockley-Zalabak was vice chancellor for student success and the founding chair of the UCCS Communication Department. Dr. Shockley-Zalabak is the recipient of the University of Colorado Thomas Jefferson Award, President's Award for Outstanding Service, Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Faculty, the Colorado Speech Communication Association Distinguished Member Award, the 2003 Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce ATHENA Women in Business Award, the 2005 Student Government Association Student Choice for Instructor of the Year Award, the 2008 and 2011 Colorado Springs Business Journal Women of Influence Award, and the 2011 Leadership Pikes Peak Makepeace Community Trustee Award.
An Oklahoma native, Shockley-Zalabak earned bachelors and master's degrees in communication from Oklahoma State University, Stillwater. She earned her PhD. from the University of Colorado, Boulder, in organizational communication.

 Past Grand Marshals include:

2013 Wasson HS Graduating Class
2012 Coach Troy Calhoun
2011 Lt. Gov & Dr Garcia
2010 Mary Ellen McNally
2009 Dan O'Connell
2008 Jim Lyons, Attorney at Law
2007 Tom Kelly, Principal, Palmer HS
2006 Rich O'Connell,Penrose Hospital
2005 Sgt Robert Wong, Fort Carson
2004 John & Becky Creaney
2003 Mayor Mary Lou Makepeace
2002 Terry & Rosemary O'Connell
2001 Mary Jane Rust with special guest Vice-Mayor Leon Young
2000 Joan Fischer
1999 Mr. & Mrs. Dennis Hayes
1998 Mac & Kim McCracken
1997 The Rogers Clan
1996 Kevin Ganoe aka Lenny the Leprechaun
1995 Chuck Murphy
1994 Dr. Pat Faricy
1993 Jim Maguire
1992 Ed Haggerty
1991 Pat O'Brien (Deceased)
1990 Rose Sullivan (Deceased)
1989 Michael Garman
1988 Colorado Governor Roy Romer
1987 Mr. Marty Murphy (Deceased)
1986 Michael O'Kennedy, Ireland
1985 Sr. Myra James, Penrose Hospitals
1984 Tom Donovan

Lt. Gov Garcia, 2011
Mary Ellen McNally, 2010

Dan O'Connell, 2008

Jim Lyons, 2007

 Saturday, March 15, 2014

Erin go bragh


St. Patrick's Day Parade Committee of Colorado Springs
© 2009-2014 - All Rights Reserved
(719) 635-8803

Contact us